Men’s Basketball Honors 2017-18 Team At Annual Banquet

first_imgDES MOINES, Iowa – The Drake University men’s basketball team joined its fans and supporters to honor the 2017-18 team at the program’s annual banquet, Sunday, April 8, at the Sheraton West Des Moines. The 2017-18 team revitalized the program, winning 17 games and finishing tied for third in the Missouri Valley Conference. The Bulldogs also made their first postseason appearance since 2012 with a berth in the Postseason tournament. In addition to honoring the accomplishments of the team and honoring the program’s five seniors, four student-athletes were honored for their contributions to the program’s success. Senior Reed Timmer (New Berlin, Wis.) was named the team MVP, C.J. Rivers (Cahokia, Ill.) garnered the Hustle Award, Samm Jones (Minneapolis, Minn.) earned the Team Award and Ore Arogundade (Chicago, Ill.) was lauded as the Best Defender. Timmer’s honor came after leading the Bulldogs and finishing second in the MVC in scoring at 19.2 points per game while earning first team All-MVC honors. He finished his career with 2,000 points, including 652 in 2017-18. Rivers’ Hustle Award exemplified his ability and willingness to go above and beyond in areas other than scoring. He finished the season as the only player in the MVC to lead his team in rebounding, assists and steals. Arogundade claimed the team’s Top Defender honor following another season helping the Bulldogs lockdown opponents and continually drawing the team’s toughest defensive assignments. Finally, Jones was named the Team Award recipient for demonstrating the qualities and selflessness that helped make him an ideal teammate. 2017-18 Team AwardsMVP – Reed TimmerHustle Award – C.J. RiversTop Defender – Ore ArogundadeTeam Award – Samm Jones Print Friendly Versionlast_img read more